In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

It is argued that by working hard, people can get what want. The main benefits of this are individuals will continuously make effort and people will have higher self-esteem, however, the key drawbacks are too much emphasis in hard working and unable to face failures. Firstly, individuals will be more confidence of themselves. If people have succeed in one of their accomplishments after working hard, they will be sure that the message they were told is correct, and they will be confident to repeat success. Furthermore, people will be willing to make more effort. This is because they know that by working hard they can reach everything, so they will never give up until they achieve it. For example, many businessmen succeed because they were sure that by hard working they will triumph, even if they failed they will still try until they get it. The main disadvantage of this message is that some people will start doubting of themselves. If they did not get what they wanted even by working hard, they will think that they are not good for anything. Moreover, people will give too much emphasis in hard working. There are other factors that can affect the achievement, such as the environment in which someone grows up, the family and the place. For instance, some Chinese people who live in the mountains, think that they will have a better live if they study hard, but the reality is, that when they reach a certain age, they will be enforced by their parents to get married and have babies. In conclusion, the benefits of telling children thay they can get everything by trying hard is that they will gain confidence and will continuously try, while the disadvantages are that people give too much importance to hard working and are not able to face their non-fulfilment.