The use of illegal drugs, such as heroin and cocaine, are becoming more and more common in many countries. What are the problems associated with drug abuse, and what are some possible solutions?

It is certainly true that illegal and harmful substances are increasingly being used by people who seek for an easy way to unwind and relieve their stress. There are a number of considerable dangers with regards to this matter, and various actions can be taken both by governments and individuals to improve the situation. This essay will discuss negative aspects of drug abuse and will suggest some solutions to address the problem. There are several apparent complications related to the popularity of narcotics. The most critical concern is that the use of illegal stimulants and tranquilizers poses a threat to one’s health. This is due to the fact that drugs have a negative effect and brain activity, metabolism and other body processes. Furthermore, an overdose of harmful substances may even be fatal. In fact, some famous people such as Marylin Monroe died because of their drug addiction. However, the problem can be fought. The best way to do this would be to increase people ’s awareness of the dangers related to illegal substances. Although this topic is usually considered as stigmatized, everyone should understand what the hazards are; teachers and parents should not be ashamed of sharing their concerns with youths. Besides this, governments should make punishments for drug manufacturers and dealers harsher. By doing this, they would deter some people from getting involved in this criminal business. Also, teenagers would be too scared to buy narcotics in the streets. In conclusion, it is my opinion that drug addiction can have an adverse effect on the health of society due to the fact that noxious chemicals have a major bearing on the normal functioning of one’s organism. After analyzing the subject, it has become quite evident that the best approaches to deal with the problem are to educate people about the related dangers and to make laws more severe. Although it is impossible to avoid the hazards completely, these are concrete steps that can be taken to reduce the impact of drugs on society.