In many countries, people are now living longer than ever before. Some people say an ageing population creates problems for governments. Other people think there are benefits if society has more elderly people. To what extent do the advantages of having an ageing population outweigh the disadvantages?

With the advancement in medical technology, the average life expectancy becomes much longer than that in the past. People have a myriad of views about whether the ageing population brings more harm or benefits to society. Although there are several arguments in favour of the ageing phenomenon, I believe the advantages are still outweighed by the disadvantages. This will be proved by the analysis of its advantage and followed by the impact on the government burden resulting from the ageing trend. Among all the benefits of having more elders in society, the first one popping in mind is that social development can be fostered by elders' personal experiences. It is universally acknowledged that old people are usually eager to share their personal experiences with the young generations. Take, for example, some high schools invite elderly people who are working in various fields to tell their stories about their career paths. From the sharing, students can understand the full picture of a particular job and therefore it is more likely for them to make a wise choice regarding subject selection and future career. Never should we overlook the fact that personal experiences are essentially important to accumulate our wisdom to avoid committing the same mistakes in the future. Unlike any factual knowledge that we can simply look up on the internet, personal experiences are something even more valuable. However, it is undeniably true that the government burden will be inevitably increase when a society is ageing. Elderly people are generally more vulnerable to various kinds of disease. In particular, people aged 65 or above are more likely to have chronic diseases, ranging from diabetes, heart disease, high blood pressure, and even cancers. The amount of medical resources required in treating chronic diseases creates a heavy burden on the government, be it the training of medical personnel or the acquisition of medical technology. While prolonged and intensive medical supports is vital to elderly, it may reduce the amount of resources to be invested in other areas, such as education. As a result, it will be incontrovertibly detrimental to social development in the future. Under this line of thinking, though we can learn from the elders' experiences, we may not ignore the negative impact on the public resources in an ageing community. Therefore, the benefits of having an ageing population are believed to be outweighed by its drawbacks.