Many childhood diseases can now be prevented through the use of vaccines. Should parents be made by law to immunise their children against common diseases or should individuals have the right to choose not to immunise their children?

Nowadays many vaccinations help children to not get sick. Some people argue that families should be free to decide what’s better for them, but I strongly believe that the government should intervene and make some medical treatment mandatory. Even though it is essential to respect everyone’s ideas, I have no doubt that immunisation is really important to save many people's lives. Firstly, vaccines were useful to wipe out a wide range of illnesses, such as polio and smallpox. In addition vaccines protect many people against infectious disease. As a consequence, a lot of children have been saved and the rate of infant mortality plummeted. Furthermore the matter of medical care was recently shown: the outbreak of the Covid-19 pandemic was only stopped thanks to mass vaccination. When it comes to vaccines, a common topic is safety. On one hand a lot of parents are afraid of side effects of immunisation but on the other childhood vaccinations are thoroughly tested. Therefore families should not be worried of a severe allergic reaction. Moreover, there is no correlation between illnesses, such as autism, and jabs. I think that the government should improve the information about these kinds of medical treatments. If people were more aware about vaccinations, they wouldn’t be scared of the unknown and wouldn’t believe in fake news. To sum up with what I said before, I am sure that immunisation could prevent a lot of illnesses. Furthermore, there is no proof that vaccinations are harmful to young children. As a result politicians should teach families on health and make mandatory childhood immunisation.