With the increasing demand for energy sources of oil and gas, people should look for sources of oil and gas in remote and untouched natural places. Do the advantages outweigh disadvantages of damaging such areas?

The inexorable surge of global energy demands, particularly oil and gas have led to an intensified search for untouched reserves. While the search has merits in meeting our energy needs, it can also cause profound consequences to the pristine environments.The question is whether the advantage of satisfying human own demands or the disadvantage of the potential environmental harm. Foremost among the advantage is economic growth,the countries which have sufficient oil and gas can lead to an industrial revolution, thereby it will cause increasing employment opportunities. Moreover, if a nation has its own natural source, it will no longer need to depend on importation, which will strengthen the stability of its price on both sources. For instance, the global gasoline price had been dramatically risen due to the war between Russia and Ukraine. However, while the benefits of having gas and oil are obvious, we still cannot overlook the damage to the environment caused by searching the natural sources. First, humans might destroy the habitat of diverse creatures while they are discovering new areas. Second, excessive use of oil and gas led to a surge in global temperature affecting the green area. Finally, the whole ecosystem will be wreaked by human beings. For example, because of climate change, the water is reducing, it cause life danger to all creatures on the earth, because we all need water to live. In conclusion, while having gas and oil can promote a nation’s economy and reduce the population unemployment, as become independence of natural resources, the cons of ruining our mother nature are too severe to bear. As a result, the benefit can’t supersede the disadvantages of harming the reserves.