Today more and more tourists are visiting places where conditions are difficult, such as the Sahara Desert or the Antarctic. What are the benefits and disadvantages for tourists who visit such places? Give reasons for your answers and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

There is a current trend among visitors to visiting places which are dangerous like the Sahara Desert or the Antarctic. Tourism in these places has both advantages and drawbacks for people who choose to visit. It sometimes requires bravery and experiences of the visitors and a lot of risk and passion to implement to produce a successful visit. To begin with, tourists around the world are generally inclined to know the unknown and see the unseen. This tendency mostly brings some positive outcomes about their personal development such as become knowledgeable about new places and cultures and nature. Tourists, for example, can learn about the weather and atmosphere of the Sahara Desert or the Antarctic. Moreover, visiting challenging places with obstacles teaches them to overcome their real-life challenges for example, they will never lose their patience in their hard times. Most importantly, discovering new places and even many past civilizations might be regarded as a great human victory. Several tourists around the world, for instance, have contributed to discovering the numerous past civilizations which still acknowledge the benefits of the curious nature of human life. In contrast, visiting risky places with harsh weather conditions and other challenges is not always welcoming because of the possibility of death or permanent disability. Visitors who are physically fit and mentally strong only can take those risks and bring catastrophe in their lives. For example, every year in the Sahara a significant proportion of tourists lose their lives because of heat stroke or other boundaries. Furthermore, visiting places full of risks and obstacles drag the visitors from their daily normal lives and when they come back it requires time and effort to cope with their past lifestyle. For example, most of the tourists I interviewed have expressed their difficulties in coping with normal life after coming back from the tour. To conclude, visiting places with risks and obstacles is dangerous and not always fruitful because of several drawbacks. However, there is no doubt that humans are by nature explorers and they will continue their journey of discovering by breaking all the barriers.