The primary purpose of public libraries is to provide books, and they should not waste their limited resources and space on providing expensive hi-tech media such as computers, software, videos, and DVDs. To what extent you agree or disagree.

Some people argue that the main aim of government's libraries is to provide print media of information; therefore, it should refrain from offering the latest scientific tools to prevent wastefulness of its available resources and area to serve best their customers. Although libraries are established for educational purposes, providing computer-based materials and terminals also have merits. This essay discusses the above viewpoints and also elaborate why I think that the modern tools of technology are also important. There are people who think that if libraries preserve its infrastructure and costs then it can maintain its resolute focus of edifying the general populace. For example, a large propotional of population is using their mobile phones to play video games and socialize, instead of enhancing their knowledge, serve as an evidence that IT gadgets can be disruptive. Hence, if appliances like desktops are used in libraries, many people will start using them to play internet games and scrolling videos on YouTube; which defeats the purpose of going to libraries. Similarly, the investment is better spend on increasing the number of new and old books, buying more furniture to accomdate more ardent readers and welcome new customers. On the hand hand, the significance of adapting libraries to include the technology and state-of-the-art devices cannot be overlooked. First of all, it will be a big blessing for the underprivileged patrons who cannot afford to buy CDs and desktops. For example, it will be a massive relief for the people from impoverished nations for whom buying personal computers and video CDs have remained out of the reach of their pockets. As well as this, there is a large possibility of people start borrowing books to study if they are also mainly coming for entertainment. This is because youngsters and children are often curious to know about the things in their surrounding and therefore, might as well take out a book or two from a library that could spark their interest in reading more. In conclusion, I agree that the primary purpose of education for the libraries cannot be compromised. However, the technological tools should be incorporated to make them accessible for the needy people and also to encourage our youth and children to develop reading habits. Therefore, in future government should try to budget for the both.