In the past, lectures were used as a way of teaching large numbers of student, but now with the development of technology for education, many people think there is no justification for attending lectures. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many people argue that latest development in i nformation technology has made the lecturers at schools redundatory and it makes no sense to attend classroom lectures. Although I believe that cutting-edge tools provide convenience, the natural limitations of the technology ensures that teachers will still co-exist with machines in the future classrooms. The factor that really favors learning from hi-tech tools is that it save a lot of effort and time of a learner. First of all, electronic-oriented teaching methodology is inexpensive as it is a one time investment and save a lot of money for institutes who then don't need to pay salaries to their faculty. This cost saving feature will also reduce the tuition fees, due to lower operational costs. For example, if salaries of teachers is responsible for 30% cost of school fees, replacing majority of them with computers will significantly drop the tuition fees. Moreover, it will also save previous moments for disciples who face longer commute to their institutes. For example, by not having to travel 2 hours everyday to an educational institution, a person can reclaim 10 hours a week that can be used used for studying or recreational purposes. On the other hand, it will be difficult to completely displace the teachers because machine learning is an unnatural process. The significance of teachers can be estimated by the fact that they often change their pedagogical approach based upon the direct or indirec feedback received from the class. To illustrate, many tutors often ask questions and judge the overall interest of the students through their gestures and body languages. I believe that this lack of emotional intelligence and experience is far beyond the capability of any machine; which as a result, make teachers important specifically related to subjects that demands more attention, engagement and focus of students. In conclusion, while state-of-the art modern tools will spare additional time and comfort to students, the conspicuous innate limitations of contemporary technology will make teachers necessary to keep students interested and motivated in their pursuit of edification.