In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

There is an argument from some parts of the world that to achieve what they want and need, they have to work hard on it. In my opinion, this can give kids some encouragement to reach their own dreams and they are dedicating most of their time to it. However, from the statement, I believe some of them can be stressed since they do not have time to play and they would think it’s a mess if they had a failure. To begin with, that sentence will motivate young people in kind of reach their desires and also encourage them to spend most of their time building their future. It all happens because when the children are told to try hard, they think the better they spend their time in case of studying or anything positive, the more they can achieve. To illustrate this, a journal in 2017 from Gadjah Mada University, Yogyakarta, Indonesia, gave the state about the percentage of 4th graders who are given motivated words by their parents and those who are not. The shocking revelation is that 67% of young age whose parents always told them to study hard passed all of the tests with minimum B grades; however, 33% of the other pupils had to remedial at least five subjects. Despite this, there also negative points when children were told about those messages such as the miserable they thought since they did not live a normal life, which always trapped their bodies in the room to read a book and also when they were got bad results, they will likely blame themselves for that. When children are in the age of playing with their friends, they will prevent it because they misinterpreted the message of not playing together and it is hard for young people to handle their emotions when they find a sense of decline. For instance, mental health magazines in Java, Indonesia, post on their social media that about 45% of pupils did not believe in some motivational words since every time they learn, the more lack of success they have. A lot of them also suffers from mental health problems, thanks to always pushing themselves to be at the top; however, never pay attention to their body. In conclusion, even though giving children that message could motivate them to always build themselves to be better and also value their time to do positive activities, so that they can achieve everything they want, they have to be aware of the side effects such as kids will likely stress about their life, since have a less time to playing with their buddies and also blamed themselves for the bad things that came up.