In many countries, the government prioritises economic growth above all other concerns. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this.

In the contemporary epoch, numerous nations aim at economic development as their priority rather than other aspects. This essay outlines the benefits along disadvantages of this problem. The phenomenon would bring some merits. Firstly, governments' revenues will increase dramatically, which means they have more abilities to focus on more industries, such as education, technology and the military. Additionally, along with the rise of the nation's revenues, people's disposable incomes will increase as well. Citizens will have more willing to purchase which means consumption can be stimulated during the process. Therefore, people's living standards will be higher and the nations will benefit from it. However, there are still some demerits as well. To be specific, if governments only target economic growth, many other issues would be neglected, for example, healthcare and poverty, which used to be huge burdens for the government, their situations in the future will be tougher. Moreover, economic growth usually does harm to the environment, which will be bad for people's health and cause numerous diseases. In conclusion, when weighing the pros and cons, putting economic growth as a priority can bring benefits to income increase which is not only for governments but also for people, nevertheless, the harm to some issues and the environment will not be negligible.