Littering in cities is an increasing problem which needs to be dealt with. Some people think that steeper fines is the best way to deal with the problem. To what extent do you agree?

The rising number of waste in the cities become a big problem and the governtment needs a good strategy to deal with this global issue. Some people argue that increasing the nominal of fines will be effective way to reduce litters. However, I totally disagree with this opinion, because litters in the city cannot be avoided and it would be difficult to implement this regulation. First and formost for most, the growth of human population in cities will always increase year by year due to the brain draining phenomenon. This case cause increasing number of litter especially household waste like food, plastics, and detergents. By forcing people to pay the fines will not give any positive impacts for this problem, since the consumers of daily products in the city will grow rapidly as high as the increasing human population. For example, there are more than 500000 people in the productive age category who migrate from rural areas to Jakarta (a metropolitan city in Indonesia) each year, as a result its yearly litters increase almost 10%. So, steeping fines could not use as a way to reduce the litters, because it will always grow equally with the human population. Second, it is not easy to control the implementation of this police because the enomerous people who live in cities are unequal compered with the number of polices or public officers who can surpervise this rule. The another reason is unawearness of the degerous of over- waste pollution, as a result, less people implement zero waste in their daily life activities, for instance, using shopping bags rather than single-used plastic. Those two reasons indicate that fines is not applicable to fix this waste problem. To sum up, adding amount of fines will not much helpful for dealing with littering in cities. The alternative solution that the government can do is create a system to manage all this litters to become other produts or it is also possibe to change that into energy.