Some people believe that it is good to share as much information as possible in scientific research, business and the academic world. Others believe that some information is too important or too valuable to be shared freely. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Some say that information about researchs should be shared to everyone, while others would argue that it is better to keep some information confidential. This essay will argue that although not sharing information can reduce competition, sharing data can lead to better goods and consumers will be more confident. On the one hand, not sharing some data can reduce competition between companies. This is because not telling some information, the companies will remain ahead of the competitors and avoid patent issues. Sharing knowledge such as finance and the algorithm confidential might cost the organization a lot of money and take away its competitive advantage and this might cause reduction in their earnings and their reputation. For example, Inditex normally only shares part of their data, because if other clothes brands know all the information and the reason why they succeed, can cause a higher competition in the market. However, I believe pioneers always have more profit and are more successful than the followers. On the other hand, sharing information make people more confident. Since they know about all the process and all the details of the product, and normally, people are more willing to use something that they are sure they are not harmful. Also, sharing information can lead to better products. This is because there will be more people working for the same aim. Individuals can help each other to get the final results and think of possible solutions and improve the product. For instance, there are many scientific researchs researches that succeed because of scientists shared information with others and worked together to get the result they wanted. In my opinion, sharing information can lead to improvement of products for the consumers. In conclusion, although there are less competition when people do not share data about their business, sharing information, people will trust more in the products and also there will be better products, and, I therefore, believe that it is better to share information to others.