Many doctors recommend that older people exercise regularly, but most people do not follow an exercise routine. Why do you think this happens? How can people be encouraged to exercise regularly?

Despite recommendations of medical professionals, the elderly are not engaged in physical activities. Their unwillingness stems from the potential feeling of embarrassment, though the issue can be effectively addressed through the creation of special sports groups. The fear of being laughed at is what deters senior individuals from following an active lifestyle. Old people tend to be fragile, which does not let them carry heavy loads or workout more intensively. Because of this, they may have self-placed perception that young people at sports centers may make fun of them, which discourages them from attending those places. For example, a person over 60 is not recommended to do cardio exercises excessively at gym due to weakened cardiovascular system. Consequently, such people do not even go to gyms, thinking about how embarrassing their performance may look for the youth. The most viable way to tackle the problem is to organize sports communities specifically for those over 50 or 60. Surrounded by their peers with similar physical conditions, the elderly may feel more confident about their sporting abilities and stamina. Not only will this encourage them to endure more, but also create positive atmosphere full of like-minded people, which is vital for the consistency of exercises. For instance, the Japanese successfully implemented this strategy, whereby the aged people are assigned to various age categories, such as 50-60 and over 60, and are instructed by professional trainers. As a result, the participants have shown a remarkable consistency and achieved their desired goals. To conclude, older generation are reluctant to do sports because they are shy of how poorly they can perform in comparison with younger ones. Nevertheless, initiation of collective exercising exclusively among seniors at certain ages may be a promising solution.