In many countries around the world, rural people are moving to cities, so the population in the countryside is decreasing. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

In a lot of countries, rural people are migrating to metropolises, so the number of residents in the countryside is dropping. In my view, this should be perceived as a negative trend for two main reasons. Firstly, the increasing number of humans in a city might cause centralism. In fact, centralism affects the huge improvements in public facilities, such as hospitals or healthcare, public transport, educational institutions, and sanitation facilities. In contrast, the infrastructures in the countryside remain constant or slowly getting developed. Consequently, there will be a great gap between rural and urban areas time by time. Therefore, this gap has the potential to lead to lower productivity of economic activities and higher poverty levels in the backcountry. Secondly, it might decline the human resources in rustic areas. If there are many rural people moving to towns, there would be less workers in the countryside. To illustrate, a home industry like a small-medium enterprise or paddy field would not grow because the valuable people prefer to choose to be employees in corporations in the big cities. In addition, it is not only about the quality but quantity of the workforce. As a result, the rural economy is probably stuck. Moreover, the next generation of the society in the countryside tends to move out and thus there will be under population here along with overpopulation there. To sum up, the migrating phenomenon from the backcountry to the developed towns not only causes only-central progress, but also affects rural economy, working people, and even poverty grades. I, therefore, remain firmly convinced that the moving trend should be diminished.