Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

Nowadays it is found that children are fond of using smartphones and even spend their time every day on them. In my point of view, spending too much time on smartphones has some drawbacks for children as they could be influenced by bad things happening on the internet. Other than that, at a young age, children should explore their interests and hobbies rather than spend time looking at smartphones. In that case, I am convinced that many children using their smartphones for hours is a negative development. This essay will elaborate on the reason as follows. The greatest negative development is the uncontrolled information on the internet that can be a bad influence on children. There are a bunch of wrong information spreading and offspring could believe it without any consideration. Even worse, if they get attached to some contents that might not be safe for children, such as violation videos. This could lead to misbehaving children in the society. Take bullying as an example, they might watch something related to bullying and start to think it is cool to do such a thing, which has a huge impact on other people. Moreover, spending hours every day on smartphones will sacrifice their childhood, where they have to explore many activities they like, find hobbies, and learn many things. For example, in the past children usually spent time with their friends playing around together in the field, however, nowadays there are so many children who spend their time at home only playing on their phones. Sadly, children have to sacrifice their childhood to play with friends and this could lead to social anxiety as they never get to socialise with people. To conclude, today the number of children spending time on their smartphone is increasing. This phenomenon could affect their lives. The significant bad impact could be more easily influenced by wrong information and sacrificing their childhood moment. Furthermore, I strongly believe that this is a negative development in this era. To overcome this problem, parents and schools have an important role in monitoring the usage of daily screen time on the phone. Other than that, they can try to control what children can access on the phone.