In many parts of the world today there is a profitable market for products which lighten or whiten people’s skin. Outline the reasons for using such products and discuss what effects they have in terms of health and society. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should write at least 250 words.

There is a controversial perspective heating up a debate over the fact that people in the world have a tendency to use some products which can help their skin brighten up. I would cotend that my essay is dedicated to the underlying roots, followed by some equivalent influences. Without a shadow of a doubt, skin whitening items can bring a large profit for companies which are involved in beautiful aspects and one of the outstanding reasons which related to this phenomenon is media effects. Because media platforms show that white skinned people are more beautiful and have higher status than dark skinned people, as a result, it can lead to a population of skin care products which can assist their skin whitening up after a period. For example, there are abundant advertisements which are produced by cosmetic brands in order to not only express an important role of white skin but also to improve people's use of their products. Hence, a remarkable justification why cosmetic manufacturers which can enhance people ’s skin white up become more and more popular is media effects. While the culprit of this problem is widely acknowledged, it is unfair if influences of whitening items are ignored. With the hope of having a light and clean skin, there are many people who abuse cosmetic products so as to increase level white of their skin without caring about their impacts, especially skin diseases. For instance, nowadays, in the market, there is a wealth of whitening products which can contain some harmful ingredients which can contribute to some serious problems related to skin diseases, therefore, if people do not have enough in-depth knowledge about cosmetics, they can suffer a flood of alarming diseases. Thus using cosmetics to have a white skin with limited knowledge, people ’s skin can be influenced by some bad ingredients in this product. In conclusion, a reason why people tend to take a keen interest in utilizing light products to improve their skin is impacted by media platforms and it can result in some unhealthy problems to their skin if they make use of it for a long time.