Some people believe that allowing children to make their own choices on everyday matters (such as food, clothes and entertainment) is likely to result in a society of individuals who only think about their own wishes. Other people believe that it is important for children to make decisions about matters that affect them. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Some say that if people let children decide their everyday matter, in the future they will only think about themselves, while others would argue that children should make their own choices. This essay would argue that although people might be more selfish, if individuals make their own choices, they will be more independent and will enjoy their lives. On the one hand, people will think that they are the centre of the world, so they will think that everyone should listen to them. This is because normally, people make decision in favor of themselves, and nobody had taught them what is correct or incorrect, so people will think that everyhing they do is right. This will cause that when individuals start working, they will only carry out activities that benefit themselves. Recent research concluded that around 31% of Spanish people who grew making their own choices where more selfish, and do not think about others. However, in my opinion, these cases are rare, and there are more advantages. On the other hand, people will not depend on others. This is because they have learnt about how to make decisions, and which one are the best, they have their own thoughts and will not be influenced by others. Also, people will be happier because they are doing what they like. Since they do not need to listen to others and do what they are told for, instead, they can follow their own ideas. For instance, a survey done by Chinese people concluded that individuals were more happier when they could participate in their work by giving their own ideas and making their own decisions. I believe, allowing people to make their own decisions can lead to a better society. In conclusion, although people might be selfish when they are told to make their own decisions, they are also happier and independent, and I, therefore, believe that is better to allow children to make their own choices.