In many countries, women are allowed to take maternity leave from their jobs during the first year after the birth of their baby. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

In today's era, working women are increasing more and more in order to help their husbands with life expenses. Recently, most sectors nowadays offer to deliver mothers a maternity leave which lasts up to a year. In this essay, I am going to shed some light on the advantages and disadvantages of giving maternity leave for a year. To begin with, the advantage of having a maternal leave as a working mother is taking good care of the baby. Newborns always need some sort of long-term care to grow up in a healthy pattern. In addition to that, mothers also need some kind of long-term rest, because giving birth is a strenuous biological procedure and needs some time to recover. Also, mothers need some type of financial support to help themselves and their baby. on the other hand, some companies do not employ young women, and that's due to the fact that such companies look at these employees as a burden if they get pregnant and are ready to deliver. For instance, there is a recent study that was done by Harvard University stating that companies spend about 6 billion dollars on maternity leave that lasts about a year, and many companies see this as a financial loss. On the contrary, these employers can make working from home possible for these women. This can increase the productivity of the organization, and cut transportation costs. In conclusion, there is a number of advantages of having maternal leave which includes, taking care of the baby and the woman, and helping the mother to recover. Other disadvantages include, high expenses to the company with no productivity.