Many people believe that cooking is an essential life skill and should be taught to boys and girls in schools. Others disagree and believe that it is a waste of school time. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is argued by some people that cooking is a necessary skill and should be taught to males and females at the school level. However, others say that it is just a waste of time. This essay agrees with the former point irrespective of the fact that cooking takes away time. On the one hand, it is believed that learning to cook at the school level is a waste of school hours. This is because cooking requires time and attention while school remains open only for five or six hours a day. Therefore, if students get to indulge in learning culinary skills, there will be less time for academic classes. For example, learning Home Economics during school in the Government schools of Pakistan takes away the time for other classes. On the other hand, learning culinary skills gives freedom to cook for oneself. This is to say that knowing how to cook enables someone to cook what they want to eat, whenever they want to eat. For instance, students who have the art of cooking can easily cook independently during their hostel life. Cooking also provokes creativity in both genders. It means that learning recipes and cooking terminologies causes individuals to generate new ideas for cuisine. For example, Knorr cubes are innovative products in which chicken and spices have been mixed by experts to produce handy products. That is why I agree with this point of view. To conclude, despite taking time and attention, cooking skills should be taught to students at the school level to make them independent and creative in cooking.