Some people say that it's better to teach language students in small classes, whereas others think the number of people does not matter. Discuss both sides and give your own opinion.

Extensive research has been done to show the best conditions to, learn languages. Class size is one such fiercely debated topic. Some people opine that small classes as being better for students. However, others say that large classes are better for teaching languages. In this essay, I shall discuss both views. I believe that for a language class to be effective, it should neither be too big, nor too small. Advocates of smaller classes cite a host of benefits. First, there is better student achievement in smaller classes This is because teachers can pay more attention to fewer students. They can employ numerous innovative classroom strategies that a smaller class makes possible, and at the same time have more discipline in the classroom. This gives more time for teachers to focus on instruction than classroom management. Secondly, smaller groups can enjoy better peer interaction. This is because everybody knows everybody. Everybody knows if someone is absent or off-track, and the smaller groups help the low-performing students achieve better. On the other hand, there are reasons why some people are in favour of bigger classes. Primarily, the cost is less if the classroom is bigger. Fewer teachers are needed to handle bigger class size. What is more, if class size is made smaller, many new and inexperienced teachers are put into the job, which reduces the efficiency of teaching. Therefore, with fewer, but more experienced teachers, there is more effective teaching in bigger classrooms. Moreover, students learn independence and self-motivation, because teachers don't have time for one on one interaction with students. Finally, students learn to work in groups, because group work becomes a necessity in large classrooms. In my opinion, there is no one right answer when discussing classroom size, and advantages and disadvantages exist for both approaches. Many people do not favour smaller classes for many reasons. In a survey it was found that people preferred to go to bigger classes with more experienced teachers than smaller classes with inexperienced teachers. Secondly, the students may not have a sufficient amount of peers to interact with if the class is small. So, the advantages of one approach automatically become the disadvantages of the other. To sum up, in deciding the class size, the key for teachers and administrators is to strike a balance between too many students and too less students.