There is a lot of pressure on young people today to succeed academically. As a result, some people believe that non-academic subjects, such as physical education and cookery, should be removed from the school syllabus so that children can concentrate on academic work. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Youngsters are struggling hard to become successful in their academic tasks these days. Some argue that non-academic subjects like cooking and physical education should not be included in the school syllabus so that students can fully focus on academic tasks. This essay strongly agrees with this statement because it will prevent extra load work and students will enjoy studying subjects of their interest. First and foremost, removing non-academic subjects reduces the workload on the students. This is to say that spending time studying irrelevant and boring subjects takes off the brain's energy. Also, doing extra homework and assignments related to these subjects wastes the time of the children. This leads to poor performance in other academic subjects like science subjects. For instance, in Pakistan; students at their school level have to study subjects such as Home Economics, Agriculture etc. Students find it difficult to prepare for these courses and spend a lot of time getting through these subjects. So, they cannot focus properly on other academic subjects and their overall performance drops. Eradication of non-academic courses causes students to study subjects of their choice and interests. This is due to the reason that with a full concentration on major subjects, students will enjoy doing their homework and assignments. This will lead to improvement in their academics and performance. For example, students at The Educators School study subjects of their interest. In conclusion, to prevent poor performance of students in school; it is necessary to remove non-academic subjects because it prevents their time and they enjoy studying interesting subjects.