Some people believe that the difference between the lowest paid job and the highest paid jobs should be reduced. What extent do you agree?

There are some people who believe that wage gaps between the highest and lowest paid should be reduced. I totally disagree with this statement because employees will feel unfair dan unmotivated to upgrade themselves. The salary gap between the highest and lowest paid will cause the feeling of unfairness among employees, especially to those who receive the biggest salary. This is due to the norm in a working environment where people with higher responsibility will obtain more pay rather than those who have less responsibility in one organization. Thus, the top employees will feel dissatisfied with their monetary rewards if it is almost the same nominal with lower positions. For instance, in one of the companies in Indonesia, there has been an uproar for the inequality of the payments received by their employees. The executives feel that their skills have been undervalued causing their pay to be almost similar to those who are in lower positions. The monetary rewards can be one way to motivate employees to upgrade their skills. This is because those workers who learn more skills might get promotions to better positions and receive greater salaries. So, if the salary gaps between higher and lower positions are reduced, this will demotivate those workers to learn more skills as they might feel that it is unnecessary. For example, These days workers are more rewarded if they have skills such as operating MS offices or are able to do data analysis. Therefore, if the pay for those who have no demanded skills is almost similar to those who are skilled, this will cause workers in lower positions unwilling to upgrade their skills. To conclude, It will be unfair and demotivating for employees if there is a reduced gap between the salary of higher and lower positions.