In some cultures elderly people are highly valued, while in some other cultures youth are more valued. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

In some customs, old individuals are greatly respected, while in others, it is the youngsters. I have a balanced opinion. On the one hand, I concur with those who believe that elders should be revered in any tradition. This is because they have much knowledge gained from living long lives thus they are considered very wise. Owing to this, they would be able to offer better leadership as they guide communities towards prosperity. These experiences enable them to avoid mistakes usually made in youth as a result of immaturity or little knowledge. For instance, this is the reason why many countries elect old people as politicians to govern them and pass sensible laws to ensure stability. On the other hand, I am also in accord with those who believe that youngsters should be treasured by communities. The reason is that they are an important source of labor since their young bodies are very energetic and strong while their minds are an endless source of creativity. This means they would be able to work for long hours while supplying endless innovative solutions that solve current issues. As a result, they increase productivity that will eventually boost economies to ensure nations provide a good life for their citizens. In conclusion, I support the two viewpoints as both of them have merit. While I believe that elders should be respected because they have knowledge that would ensure good leadership, I also opine that young people should be revered since they are vital to a nation’s workforce.