Some people believe that hardened criminals should be sentenced to death. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Generally, due to increased interconnectedness, the information about an increasing number of crimes with a wide range of variety can easily be accessed, which are used to be behind the curtains in the past. Thus, one can come in to the conclusion that we are in the middle of the crime wave and criminals are being hardened, and to put justice into the practice, death penalty should be applied. I strongly disagree with this belief with respect to two main reasons. Firstly, imposition of a death sentence is inhumane regardless of the case and may not address the increasing rates of hardened crimes in a sustainable manner. To be more precise, hardened criminals are mainly the ones that are suffering from psychological disorders, therefore conviction of crime is out their control. Additionally, death sentence is the type of punishment that cannot be reversed if a criminal is proved to be guiltless. Although serving in the prison for years is nonreversible as well, one can be reintegrated back to the society after being released, but the ones that penalized with death have no chance for that. However, hardened criminals can be prevented without bearing above-mentioned challenges. That means prevention of hardened criminals can be applied through public awareness, social work and affordable psychological support for the ones who are facing self-control issues. With respect to the reintegration of prisoners back to the society, having workplaces for them, being open to admitting them and stimulating their rehabilitation individually are essential. To sum up, in order to prevent an increasing number of hardened criminals, both governmental and non-governmental organizations should collaborate, which can be done by increasing public awareness, addressing psychological issues of the people and follow-up them with iteration.