Some people think secondary school students should study international news as one of their subjects, while others believe that this is a waste of valuable time. Discuss both these views and give our own opinion.

An array of masses believe that international news should be studied by secondary school aged pupils as a module whilst others say it wastes the time which can be invested for learning other subjects relevance to the curriculum. In my point of view, learning what is happening in the world can update the knowledge of students, although that time period would be more useful in order to focus on exam-oriented matters. It should be hence, organized in a balanced way and this essay will outline the importance of both sides. On one hand, if students in secondary schools follow international news that will benefit them in gaining ideas about current global trends. This is because, this subject emphasizes more about fields like economy, therefore students can get an idea about the possible areas which will have more job opportunities. For instance, at present, more and more countries are focusing on the development of artificial intelligence (AI), thus, pupils can wisely select subjects to cater for the future job market related to AI. Having said that, secondary-aged students can plan their professional careers simply by analyzing the world's news. On the other hand, students can study more demanding subjects during the time they spend studying world news as they are critical to scoring good grades. Since, there is a huge competition among pupils, the ones who can expertise subjects such as maths and science would be better at school. Students thus, need to utilize more time in order to learn other conventional subjects to become highlighted among their peers. In conclusion, even though studying international news by secondary school students might help them choose future career paths,, this precious time can be more fruitfully taken to study more difficult subjects such as science and mathematics to get higher marks in examinations. However, in my opinion, both these views are significant hence schools need to organize it in a balanced way.