Some people say that economic development is necessary to reduce the poverty in the world. Others say that economic growth should be stopped immediately lo stop damaging the environment. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

It is irrefutable that economic sustainability is central to alleviation of poverty and improve living standard of any country. Although economic progress can sometimes hamper the ecological system and biodiversity of any location, its positive sides rule out over those negative aspects. I would like to agree with the positive sides of economic booming for several reasons. On the positive side, economic progress increases the living standard of people and value of money. The term “value of money” indicates goods and services which can be purchased by per unit of money. When a country steps forward in economic development, income level rises as well as value of money and Purchasing Power Parity (PPP) rises which in return provides people the flexibility to get any service or buy any goods at a price comparatively lower than that of any underdeveloped country. For instance: Bangladesh is becoming a role model of economic booming day by day. Similarly, we have noticed that China and India have the fastest growing economy in the world right now. If we compare the living standard and purchasing power of people between early Bangladesh right after independence and their current conditions, we will be able to perceive that economic development is the major factor for these massive changes. On the downside, economic growth requires cutting down of trees and deforestation in some location sometimes. Economic development involves massive industrialization and automation. Industrialization has tremendous impact on environment if it is not in a controlled way. On top of that, economic growth requires building infrastructure. For instance: in most of the developing countries, transportation facilities are developed at the primary stage of their economic development. Building facilities like bridges, roads and buildings necessitates damaging the ecological system and biodiversity of that area. However, economic development will be able to attenuate poverty as well as will have less impact on surrounding environment if they are well planned and sustainable. Environmental Impact Assessment and mitigation policies may reduce the downside significantly. In conclusion, economic progress, if sustainable and well planned, is essential in reducing poverty in any country.