Individuals can do nothing to improve the environment; others believe only governments and large companies can make a difference. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should write at least 250 words.

It is widely believed that governments and companies can make big impacts to improve the environment, while individuals cannot do anything to change. Personally, I can neither completely disagree nor agree with this statement for a variety of reasons. I partly agree that governments and corporations can make a difference. One of the main reasons can be that governments can build public transportation and encourage people to use it. This means that by applying encouragement, the percentage of air pollution can be decreased by using fewer gas vehicles. Large companies also have a good impact on the environment by applying technology, funds and human resources in producing products. For example, Tesla has successfully produced electric cars with the idea of replacing traditional cars driven by gas and oil. On the other hand, I disagree with the viewpoint that individuals can do nothing to improve the environment. Firstly, an individual cannot make a change but it is possible with individuals. This is because many people with similar mindsets can do the same work to make a big impact. For exampleJapan is known as a clean country because many Japanese keep their surroundings clean by picking rubbish and keep cities clean. Secondly, energy can be saved in a good way if individuals use it effectively. For instance, turning off equipment if not used. In conclusion, the environment can be made different by both authorities, large companies and individuals. In my opinion, the important is how we educate everyone to be attentive to the surroundings and to maintain it in good conditions