Many famous sports players advertise sports products. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Advertising has become part of our daily life for a long time. We can see that everyone can be given the opportunity to present a company. I believe the advantages are far more than disadvantages in this case. Having a player advertise a product would lead to increase in sales. As in any environment, Celebrities could influence their fans into certain products. These diehard fans would then purchase the product as It is in their view. If they are given the chance to buy something which their idol supports there wouldn't be any reason to not support their favorite star. Having a celebrity advertise your product would lead to further enhancement of your brand image. between a brand that doesn't have a sponsor and another having a credible player supporting it people would almost always gravitate toward the one having the known athlete. I should also mention that there are two sides to this coin. The brand would be as credible as the person. If the star has a huge downfall, The company has to find a way to grind back to the spot they were which in most cases would be choosing another role model. In the end, like all things there are both advantages and disadvantages to having a player advertising a product. But if chosen wisely, There would be near to no risk and you would have all the gain there is from having an athlete for the face of your brand.