Studies show that crime rates are lower among those with educational degrees. Therefore, the best way to reduce the crime rate is to educate criminals while they are still in prison. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Crime has been around since the dawn of age, even when our first ancestors were alive. Some research states that in order to lessen crime rates, you have to educate the criminals while they are in jail. In this essay, I am going to shed some light on why I agree with this statement. Firstly, educating criminals and showing them what crimes can do to society, might definitely lower the crime rates. To illustrate, showing the criminals their doings with their own eyes, and telling them the consequences of this thing, will help them to stop what they are doing. In addition, crime rates are much higher in countries with low or no education than in countries with higher education. For instance, a recent study done by Harvard University states that crime rates are higher by 70% in developing countries than in developed countries. Secondly, criminals tend to commit crimes for money, and thus we must educate criminals in order to let them have jobs to help themselves and their families. For example, crimes that happen now in Uganda are because of poverty. So, the UN must help them get enough education, to let them engage in jobs that help their country flourish. Also, education helps criminals to be an active part of society by teaching them the history of crimes, and how crimes can bring down whole nations. This can be seen when the crime rates were extremely high and led to the fall of the Byzantine Empire. In conclusion, crimes are horrific actions that are mostly done by uneducated people. crime rates can be lowered, if we offer the ease of access to education. This can be achieved if we show criminals what crimes can do to society, and offer them the right education to let them have the jobs they deserve.