Today, the high sales of popular consumer goods reflect the power of advertising and not the real needs of the society in which they are sold. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In this day and age, it is widely thought that the enormous sales growth of popular consumer items is due to the power of advertising and does not represent the real demand of contemporary people. However, in my opinion, only advertisement is not what forces people to buy things, while their real demands are still a powerful factor. On the one hand, commercials indeed play an essential role in the advance of commodities sales. First of all, as the communication channel between sellers and buyers, advertising helps people access products much faster and easier. In fact, there are many people who cannot find products that meet their demand until they watch advertisements and know the goods. Besides, advertising takes advantage of the influence of celebrities by inviting them to participate in an advertisement. To be more specific, young people today seem to believe in the products that their idols advertise. Therefore, it will help to increase sales. Moreover, tempting adverts can make people blur the line between real needs and stimulated desires and easily fall into the trap of consumerism which results in overconsumption. On the other hand, an intensive growth of sales volume of popular consumer items has resulted from people's modern lifestyle as well, where they have more material needs than the older generation. The role of advertisement, in this case, is to help people choose the products instead of persuading them to buy unnecessary goods. For instance, electronic gadgets and household appliances that people use today were not widespread in the past. They came into our life as a natural requirement from the material-enrichment modern lifestyle and were not just pushed by luring advertisements from brands. Last but not the least, advertising is not always effective and consumers plagued by the overconsumption problem gradually realize that goods promoted in advertising only bring them temporary happiness and more crowded living space which are the reason why minimalism become popular recently among consumers. In conclusion, advertisements are a powerful tool for brands and they can affect many purchasers' decisions, but I myself hold a firm belief that a great proportion of customers are driven by both their needs and the adverts they see.