There is a lot of pressure on young people today to succeed academically. As a result, some people believe that non-academic subjects, such as physical education and cookery, should be removed from the school syllabus so that children can concentrate on academic work. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Adolescent, are under the increased influence to make it in their academics. In conjunction with this, more individuals are of the opinion that non-academic courses, such as physical education and cookery should be cancelled from the school curriculum so that the students can focus on their academic work. I disagree with this, and the reasons will be stated before. Firstly, education shouldn’t be focused only on the discipline chosen by the students, be it science or art. It should encompass other areas of study. In this case, the non-academic subjects to make the children have all-round knowledge and experience. These cocurricular courses can help the students develop skills that will be useful to them in the long run. For example, taking nutrition as an extra subject will help them know the basics of cooking. This is important for the students both female and male. Furthermore, a time will come when they will need to make use of these cooking skills, so learning the topic in school will give them first-hand information of what they are supposed to do and not do. Also, citing another instance, physical education plays a vital role in the student's well-being irrespective of it not been their main field of study. Teenagers need to be aware of the importance of exercise which can only be taught properly when taking this topic. It will give the pupil the avenue to know the importance of keeping fit which will benefit them as they advance in society. Secondly, learning these other aspects of study can be useful to young people helping them to broaden their horizons in terms of entrepreneurship. The ability to build more on the discipline been taught and use it as they advance in life to meet ends meet. This will help the individuals to extend outside not just their academics but also give them financial liberation. In conclusion, leaving these non-academic courses with other academic subjects will help the students advance beyond their discipline knowledge, give them skills they might need later on and help them broaden their horizons.