The car is possibly the most convenient and popular way of getting from A to B. However, due to its impact on the environment and the risk it poses to pedestrians and motorists, governments should take urgent steps to reduce our dependency on this mode of transport. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, with the incessant innovation in the automobile sector resulting in the reduction of the manufacturing cost of a car, everyone can afford it. People find it a more reliable and easy way to commute to their offices without wasting time on public transport. Despite being convenient, some populace argue that this causes pollution and danger for 2 wheelers and pedestrians and government should impose strict action to minimise the usage of cars. I strongly disagree with this notion as this will impact economically to the nation and subsequent paragraphs will further show my reasons. To begin with, Less usage of cars will directly affect the economy of the nation which as a result has to bear by the common man in the way of inflation and unemployment. Low demand in the automobile sector will impact the production of its part which eventually creates a job crisis. The automobile sector plays a crucial role in creating jobs and helps the ruling power to collect huge taxes from the buyers such as road tax, service tax, HST, GST etc. The supply of oil also adds more revenue to the government's money which can be used in public benefits. For instance, an individual purchasing a car not only spends money once but also spends on future needs of the car. Therefore, making a hindrance in this business is not going to benefit anyone. To further solidify my argument, minimising the number of private vehicles will impose pressure on the current government to add more buses and trains during peak office hours and this will also create concern for women's safety at night. Having a private vehicle not only encourages freedom but also safety for women while travelling at night. For example, incidents related to women travelling in public transport can be observed on a daily basis. Therefore, government should take some alternative options to reduce the accidents and pollution caused by vehicles. In conclusion, It can deduced that imposing laws or regulations for less usage of private vehicles will negatively impact the nation and the ruling power should introduce new techniques to curb both the issues of pollution and accidents.