A lot of places in the world rely on tourism as a main source of income. Unfortunately, tourism can also be a source of problems if it is not managed correctly. Describe the advantages and disadvantages of tourism in the modern world. Do you think that the benefits of tourism outweigh its drawbacks?

Tourism serves as a major source of livelihood for people in many countries. However, poor tourism management approaches can cause problems that may affect many economies around the world. In this essay, I will outline what I consider to be the potential advantages of tourism, as well as some of the negative outcomes that I feel are likely to occur, and explain why I feel that there are more significant advantages. In terms of the numerous benefits of tourism in the modern world, there are two main advantages. Firstly, tourism helps to increase and boost the revenue of the economy. By raising the taxes on various activities for tourists, for instance paying for hotel rooms and other services, the government will have the opportunity to improve and develop more infrastructures. This could include new roads, brand new public transportation, better and more organized airports, and building new tourist attractions. As a result, these improvements (adaptations) will attract more foreigners, not only for visiting purposes, but also the amazing systems and services that the country could offer. Another benefit (Secondly) is that new infrastructures and businesses will help to open up job opportunities and increase employment for people in that country. This will benefit thousands of people, and generally help them to support themselves and their family. Furthermore, citizens may experience an increase in their income per year, new promotions, and overall a brighter future for both the people and their country.  There are, however, possible drawbacks of tourism in some countries. Tourism puts an enormous stress on the local environment, as it has been proven that too many tourists in one country can produce a significant amount of waste products and pollution. This will lead to a negative impact on the environment, for example it will cause an incredible strain on local waste management, resulting in landfills and sewage plants overflowing, which could possibly affect the water system. Also, overcrowding and overuse of environmental resources can threaten many endangered species where their natural habitats are invaded and lost.  In conclusion, even though tourism could cause negative effects to the environment, tourism is considered vital to the success of the country. In my view, the advantages contribute a lot to the people in their everyday lives, outweighing the disadvantages.