Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

In this contemporary era, the amount of time spent on gadgets by children has increased therefore, it has become a topic of concern for many. There are various rationales that are leading to such development. I will mention my opinion about whether it is a favourable development or negative in upcoming paragraphs. To commence with the causes, the first and foremost is availability or accessibility as these days the count of cellphones is the same as the number of family members in a home therefore, the chances of grabbing gadgets are more. Additionally, the freebies available on smartphones lure children toward themselves. In detail, the free applications that are available for entertainment inveigle the naive minds of children into developing the thinking of playing games, watching videos and listening to music. To exemplify, as per the interview of the developer, Tik Tok application is making a huge profit and that is the result of the addictive nature of the app means youngsters spend hours a day on Tik tok while watching videos without keeping track of time. Thus, the entertainment and internet are two reasons for the addictiveness of phones. Probing ahead, reliance on gadgets for studies and academic purposes is also one of the reasons for this issue.In detail, these days paper and pen writing are not prefered by academic institutes and laptop assignments and projects are a pattern of study. Therefore, children are more likely to spend time on gadgets. For instance, in Canada, online classes and projector usage is a very common method of teaching. Hence, academic institutes play a prominent role in giving devices to hands of children. In my opinion, undoubtedly, technology has numerous pros but the drawbacks cannot be neglected,and this development is unfavourable from my standpoint because regular use of cellphones leads to various ailments like eye-related issues and also results in becoming children introverted as more screen time means less social interaction. Thus, this is not a positive development. To recapitulate, as per the aforementioned assertions, it can be concluded that parents should be responsible for controlling the screen time of their children as there could be many negative consequences of giving more time to cellphones.