In many countries, people are now living longer than ever before. Some people say an ageing population creates problems for governments. Other people think there are benefits if society has more elderly people. To what extent do the advantages of having an ageing population outweigh the disadvantages?

At present, the life expectancy in many nations is increasing, nevertheless, some believe having a high percentage of the older generation is troublesome for the governing bodies, since they can not be involved in the upliftment of the economy. However, others say it is beneficial to possess them because elders can maintain the cultural values of a country. In my opinion, the negativity on the economic balance with overcrowding of the older population outweighs any possible advantages that they can give in terms of traditional integration, hence it will be examined in this essay. On one hand, the existence of an ageing population can make the economy of a country unstable as younger are the main workforce. Since, they can not do a job, other family members have to nourish them, as a consequence, financial problems might be caused in a family. Governments thus, need to implement measures to overcome this economic crisis by providing funds for elders and it is an additional burden for the governing bodies to feed them. Hence, this economic instability of authorities overshadows any potential benefits. On the flip hand, the most possible opportunity that the ageing population provides is their involvement in maintaining and continuing of morals and ethics of the culture. Along with their life experiences, elders pass spiritual guidance and moral values to the younger generations, and as a result, societies can continue their sustainability. For example, my grandparents who lived with us were the pioneers in teaching me older traditions and religious stories of our country while my parents were busy with their professional lives. But, this same guidance can be provided by educational institutes such as schools to the children, therefore, this positivity of having an older generation can be easily replaced by alternative measures. In conclusion, the long life span of the population of many countries today, results in negativity that outweighs such pressure on governments to cherish elders since they are not capable of doing a job, nevertheless today society does not need to rely on elders ' guidance in the maintenance of its cultural morals whereas educational places can substitute such issues.