Some people believe that children nowadays have too much freedom. Other believe that children are sometimes protected too much by their parents. Which of these viewpoints do you agree with?

These days it is believed that some parents have turned to a more lenient way of raising their children, while others think that they have become significantly over-protective. I completely agree with the fact that parents have decided to over shelter minors in these times in the light of an increased world insecurity and the spread of technological gadgets that can lead to unwanted contacts. First and foremost, the development of telecommunications has allowed parents to be more conscious of the violence and delinquency that is happening in the present times. With the invention of TV, computers and mobile phones, access to mass information and particularly news has grown greatly. Even though crime still took place before the existence of these gadgets, information was not as reachable as today. There is no doubt that this advent had brought new preoccupations and, by consequence, new precautions. Therefore, influenced by nowadays news, adults in charge of children have become more overprotective and have restricted minor’s exposure to the real-endaging world. Secondly, there is no doubt that the facilitation of telecommunications has provided an opportunity for young children and teenagers to talk to strangers that could put them in danger, raising major awareness on guardians. If a minor is talking or contacting someone he or she doesn’t know on the cellphone or laptop, he or she can put himself or herself in danger. For instance, children can be catfished by adults that would want to meet them in person. Clearly, unless parents act now, children will jeopardize themselves. As a result of the risk that chatting freely on technological apparel, parents and legal guardians have become stricter with the usage of cellphones and computers. In conclusion, the mass consumption of reports involving violence and crime, combined with the hazard of interacting with strangers online have transformed the way of bringing up young ones into a more strict style of education.