It is suggested that primary children should learn how to grow vegetables and keep animals. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages? You should write at least 250 words.

It is recommended that children in primary school should be encouraged to learn how to plant vegetables and rear animals. The benefits of this involve learning and understanding the hard work it takes to do these activities, thereby promoting appreciation. Moreover, the process of learning such a skill could endanger a child's life as some animals can be unpredictable. To start with, these activities teach them to appreciate the hard work required in farming. Growing vegetables and training animals require a large amount of work, when a child is familiar with this process and is actively involved in performing these tasks, then they will grow an appreciation for these foods when they are finally cultivated. This is because they have seen firsthand the amount of time, work, and process it takes to grow till the plants fully mature. For instance, a study that was conducted between children in families that purchase their food from stores, alongside those who plant at home, found that there was hardly any food wasted in the families that grow their own food in comparison to the latter. When asked why they have minimal wastage, they mentioned how hard it was to plant the food they eat, so they would not want to see it going to waste. Hence, it shows that performing these tasks, has an impact on children. On the other hand, there is a possibility of injury to them. This is because children do not fully understand how animals function, and what to do and they become violent. Furthermore, when such a situation occurs, there is a high chance of injury to them. The animals could run over them in some cases and because of how fragile they are the injury may be more severe in comparison to when it happens to an adult. Therefore, showing that teaching a young child to keep animals may cause more harm than good. In conclusion, encouraging children to practice growing plants could teach them to be less wasteful and understand the value of plant growing. Subsequently, teaching them about keeping animals could be detrimental to them as it could cause injuries if they are attacked. In my opinion, children should only be encouraged to do these activities while under supervision.