Some people think that competitive sports have a positive effect on the education of teenagers while others argue that the effect is negative. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Athletic competitions are perceived to be educative to adolescents by some but others debate the are solely disadvantageous. On one hand, teenagers are challenged to develop their skills only in these situations and on the other hand, they begin to grow seeds of jealousy and rivalry. I think it causes more misunderstandings among team mates. It can help team mates nurture their individual skills by playing in the midst of one another because at this age, most of them learn better in the company of their mates. A pubertal boy or girl who loses a game will put in more effort to do better in their next challenge and this follows an upward trend of growth and development in their education of the importance of outdoor activities. For instance, my nephew who is used to showing off his football skills, only started intensifying his training when he lost his first match. The declaration of one person as the winner and the other the loser in an organised game could begin to make colleagues see each other as rivals, who are solely after the downfall of each other. The problem is in these settings where people are considered competitors, teenagers are put under pressure so they begin to focus on showing off and outshining the other or in winning and gaining recognition and not in the level of training and experience they can gather from the second person. For example, my niece slowly started wishing for her friend to stop showing up in practice because when she was around, this meant she will not score more points in volleyball. I think there are more disagreements and it takes away from the importance of sports and makes us focus on unnecessary things that can foster disunity. There are many terms that ought to be met in every sporting activity and a competition draws attention to these trivial issues allbecause all because one person wants to succeed and not the other. An example is how often the winning team is considered a cheat and how the losing team is seen to be the victim of such unfairness. In conclusion, while the improved performace of any athletic teenager will depend on the number of competitions they have been a part of, it could also breed hatred and contempt. I think there will be more quarrels in such situations.