Some people argue that all experimentation on animals is bad and should be outlawed. However, others believe that important scientific discoveries can be made from animal experiment. Can experimentation on animals be justified? Are there any alternatives?

There is an old and endless discussion about animal experiments that divides opinions among the population. Whilst some people argue that it is not necessary, others still believe that is crucial for scientific discoveries. However, I don’t agree that testing in animals is justified and I believe there are alternatives to this. One popular example of the use of animal experimentation is the cosmetics industry. To test whether a cosmetic is safe to the consumers, they use animals as the primary testers. This kind of test causes a lot of suffering to the animals, which live in a cage until the day they die suffering with inimaginable pain., these experiments are not justified and there are even industries that have never tested in animals. Healthcare manufacturing is another example of animal experimentation. It is clear that animal tests had a crucial role not only in the development of the new drugs, but also in the evolution of it. Rare and chronic diseases were benefited and many people live better today because of those drugs. For instance, we can cite the discovery of the industrialised insulin which was tested in rabbits in order to treat a severe chronic disease called diabetes. Although this tests have importance in the process of new drugs, with the advance of techonology,it is not necessary to be done in this way anymore. The industries now have a wide range of resources that can be used in order to test and make their products safe to the population. For example, the use of data science and biomedicine. In conclusion, industries such as comestics and healthcare are used to testing their new products in animals, but with the new technologies we have nowadays, this is not justified.