**In recent years, there has been a rise in the use of performance-enhancing drugs in sports.** **What are the consequences of doping for athletes?** **What measures should be taken to combat this issue?**

Recently, drugs that would improve athletes ’ physical capability have received significant discussion. Despite the fact that intake of those drugs would temporarily increase athletes ’ personal records, several negative influences would follow this behaviour, including health risks and an unfair competitive environment. This essay would first discuss the sequence of this behaviour and give a proper solution. It is clear that the negative impacts of performance-improving drugs are more serious than the positive ones. Firstly, it is hard to deny that certain drugs may have extra advantages for athletes, including stimulating the nervous system and promoting recovery. However, science also suggests that if those drugs are used improperly, it would cause some health issues, for example, a heart attack. Furthermore, it is imaginable that some athletes would receive better resources, including sports drugs, while others may train in a poor material situation. Which means that it would create some unfairness between different athletes. Therefore, to prevent those negative consequences, one practical solution would be to provide medical education to athletes. Even though a well-established body check program would prevent the drug use rate, some athletes would risk their careers for a better result by using certain drugs. Based on these phenomena, one better solution would be to set up an education program, that would provide proper knowledge about the side effects of performance-improving drugs for athletes. Only when athletes have that background information can they weigh the advantages and disadvantages by themselves, and the problem of unjustified drug use will be effectively solved. In conclusion, the consequences of performance-enhancing drugs would result in athletes ’ risky health situations and an unfair competitive environment. To address this problem, medical education would be a practical solution.