Present a written argument or case to an educated reader with no specialist knowledge of the following topic. The ease of international travel and the spread of various kinds of mass media all over the world have made it more possible than ever for people to know how other people live in other countries. Do the advantages of this development outweight the disadvantages?

Nowadays, the lifestyles of international communities are accessible information due to the ease travel and media coverage. Although they can lead to inappropriate cultural absorption, I believe that the merits of getting informed about the way people in other countries live outweigh the drawbacks for some reasons. First and foremost, the spreading of information about how other individuals live globally will increase the possibility of cultural homogenization. If a local community consumes news which continuously covers relatively liberal countries, they will adopt new norms which are not fully appropriate to their initial upbringings and local circumstances. One clear example is how teenagers in places that honour politeness and traditional values in their societies. For instance, in indonesia are affected by Western contents and subsequently imitate the American way of expressing emotions and thoughts, such as public display of affection from unmarried couples. This will potentially clear the original culture which respects privacy and politeness in public. On the other hand, by knowing about how citizens live in different countries through travelling or reading mass media, people will learn about honourable habits in the other cultures. Subsequently, if they believe that such habits or values are proven to be beneficial, they will try to take the good things and refuse the bad things from the information that they think irrelevant with the people in their country belief. The cleanliness Japanese towns, for instance, has impressed many people and is contended to be the result of collective discipline traits. Therefore, upon visiting Japan or witnessing its positive publicity, areas of other places will be inspired to be as disciplined as the Japanese. In conclusion, there can be no doubt that receiving details about global lifestyles is undeniable, whereas this potentially brings some advantages and disadvantages for society. However, I staunchly endorse the benefits of learning positive habits from other citizens’ ways of living, while at the same time taking unsuitable content from other parts of the world with a grain of salt.