Since traveling abroad has become relatively inexpensive more countries are opening their doors for foreign tourists. Is it a positive or negative trend? Give your opinion and include relevant examples.

In the post-pandemic age, various governments are weighing the pros and cons of reopening their doors to international tourists. From my perspective, this, on the one hand, will pose significant challenges to governments' ability to manage domestic affairs; on the other hand, flourishing tourism can to some extent slow down the trend of de-globalisation. As a result of COVID-19, the increasing isolationism among the international community has been worrying, but fortunately, the trend can be mitigated by cultural exchanges facilitated by international visitors. This can be illustrated by an interview with a Chinese woman, who said to a journalist from ABC that she had been convinced that Americans were indifferent and only interested in their own benefits. But in Chicago, she saw many volunteers help to pave roads for the blind, which totally shifted her misconceptions about Americans. This example suggests that personal exchanges brought by international tourism can effectively dissipate our wrong prejudices that sometimes derive from political propaganda. While international tourism offers cultural benefits, it also poses certain challenges. One such challenge is the influx of foreign tourists. To illustrate, in 2023 a couple of South Koreans were attacked by a Japanese extremist who regarded all South Koreans as enemies. What is worrying is that with the rising tensions between countries like Japan, China, and South Korea, this kind of assault could unfortunately continue to occur. Therefore, governments must take effective measures to prevent this kind of tragedy when they benefit from the revenue from foreign visitors. To summarise, the popularity of global tourism stimulates cultural exchange after the pandemic, but it sometimes can also lead to crimes due to extremism or xenophobia, thereby governments should actively take effective actions.