Overpopulation of urban areas has led to numerous problems. Identify one or two serious ones and suggest ways that governments and individuals can tackle these problems.

In recent years, more and more people are crowded in urban areas, which leads to overpopulation. This causes several problems such as reducing living quality and increasing stress. However, there are solutions involving governments and business companies that can alleviate the problem. Firstly, overpopulation in the centre of the city reduces the living quality of people. As the land size of an urban area is limited, there is not much space left for housing after building infrastructure and business offices. Tight apartments with only a bedroom and shared restroom are not a strange situation in a metropolis such as Hong Kong. Moreover, as people continue to pour into one centralized area, social interactions between neighbours increase, leading to conflicts and stress in a fast-paced urban environment. In order to solve the numerous problems brought by overpopulation, there are several methods that governments and business companies can use. The state can put more resources into developing side areas, and encourage people to move by different policies, such as providing discounts on transportation between side and urban areas, or even reducing taxes. Business companies can also take part in solving these problems by giving the employee the chance to work remotely if possible. As a lot of people live in the urban areas where they work in, working from home means that there are no more need for them to stay in the central city, hence they can move to other places. In conclusion, overpopulation in urban areas create problems like reducing living quality and increasing stress, and by developing side areas and providing remote working these problems can be tackled by governments and business companies.