Shopping is the favourite pastime of most of the young people. Why is this the case? Do you think they should be encouraged to do some other useful activities in their free time?

There is a well-known phenomenon that the most preferred pastime activity is shopping among young people. I firmly opine that people tend to be slaves to consumerism and they should be encouraged to do other beneficial activities in their spare time. After the collapse of the Soviet Union in 1991, the rate of consumerism speeded up, and this increased the number of people who were avarice of shopping. While taking shopping as an alluring activity and their advertisements into account, it is undeniable that we are surrounded by adverts which have a pivotal role in creating artificial wants. These gimmicks might open a door to increasing the sales of products in any country. To cite an example, more than 60 per cent of sales are from social media platforms whose users are, generally, adolescents and they have advertisement publishing functionality. Regarding whether shopping is beneficial or not, I strongly believe that young people have much more feasible choices to spend their spare time as compared to shopping. Excessive buying of clothes and other products is a waste of time, and in my opinion, this can be balanced with going shopping once a month. Moreover, governments should encourage people to do other worthy recreations such as book camps, learning new skills, etc. For instance, Korea decided to put some medium-sized rooms in libraries and other public areas to urge people to read books and spend their time efficiently. To conclude, despite the belief that shopping is a normal activity, we need to understand the gravity of time and spend our time effectively. Likewise, governments should encourage us while undertaking some responsibilities which are explained above.