Some people think that zoos are all cruel and should be closed down. Others however believe that zoos can be useful in protecting wild animals. Discuss both opinions and give your own opinion.

Many people argue that it is crucial for zoos to be shut down due to their cruelty, while others believe that zoos play a vital role in protecting animals. Personally, I suppose that zoos should be maintained, though they have a few negative impacts on animals. Firstly, there are some reasons for people to think that zoos should be closed down, including the exertion of negative animal’s physical health impacts. According to some research, the life expectancy of some captive wildlife is reduced by half compared to that in natural habitat. Also, it is a matter of fact that many caged animals have a lower birth rate and are more likely to contract a disease than when they are in nature. Moreover, animals in zoos may be abused to earn money. For example, some zoos are constructed for trade purposes, not as a wildlife reserve, so some tourists’ activities may be harmful to animals, which include feeding, riding for entertainment, etc. However, zoos provide a great, suitable, and safe environment for endangered species. It is a fact that some types of species are on the brink of extinction due to wildlife poaching and trafficking, climate change, and human activities. Many of them are killed as a result of drought or deforestation, for instance. Second, zoos also educate people to respect wild animals and promote ideas of animal conservation. For example, when individuals enter zoos, they can get access to some information about animals behavior, habitat, and importance in ecology, which raises people ’s awareness of how important the existence of animals is to human society and encourages people to protect animals and act against animal extinction. In a nutshell, although animals living in captivity may be harmful for some reasons, I still approve that zoos should not be closed because they contribute excessively to the long-term survival of many animals.