In many countries, people are now living longer than ever before. Some people say an ageing population creates problems for governments. Other people think there are benefits if society has more elderly people. To what extent do the advantages of having an ageing population outweigh the disadvantages?

The trend of longer life expectancy, mainly thanks to the advanced knowledge and medical technology, has become an essential point to consider in various countries. Some people claim that an ageing society causes negative aftermath, while others argue that it can be somehow beneficial. From my perspective, the disadvantages of having an elderly population overwhelmingly outweigh the advantages. First and foremost, ageing populations can contribute to a business opportunity for, for instance, healthcare and other related industries. For instance, the trend of relying on nursing homes has significantly expanded these days as many children who are in full-time jobs do not have sufficient time to take care of their parents. Therefore, they entrust their parents to the professional nurse instead. Nevertheless, the challenges caused by the elderly community are far more serious. The strain on social welfare and pension costs can be considered as examples since the government has to allocate a partial budget, which can be used to revolutionise other aspects of the country such as education, infrastructure, or environmental issues, to support elderly citizens instead. Secondly, if the nation faces an ageing society, it also means decreased workforce which is a crucial factor of economic growth. Hence, many people may be reluctant to distribute some money to them as it is true that the majority of them are unable to be employed anymore. To conclude, despite the benefit of old citizens in terms of business opportunities in several fields, several negative aftermaths are more concerning. Therefore, in my opinion, an ageing society can clearly be seen as a detrimental trend.