In many countries, people decide to have children at a later age than in the past. Why? Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

These days, many couples opt for delayed childbirth. This trend can be attributed to career priorities. From my point of view, I consider that it has more drawbacks, especially the health of their offspring. On the one hand, postponing parenthood can bring about significant advantages. Firstly, parents have financial stability after concentrating completely on their career. Therefore, children may receive a better education quality in a precious school. In addition, when pregnant at a later age, couples are more mature in emotional aspect, so their spouse relationship can become more stable. Furthermore, they would be ready to take care of their children. For instance, children who were born in families by elderly parents tend to be paid more attention than others since their parents have more family time. On the other hand, embarking on parenthood at a later age can have unexpected disadvantages. First of all, that can increase the generation gap between parents and their offspring, leading to familial conflicts. In terms of the long run side, parents may not be around for as long as their children need them. Moreover, babies in such families are susceptible to mental diseases due to gene fault. As a case in point, according to health-related studies, infants who were born by mothers over 35 years old are prone to Down syndrome. To sum up, opting for pregnancy at a later age can be because of heightened monetary burdens. That brings certain pros and cons about health and family aspects. From my perspective, the disadvantages should be given more concern than advantages.