Some people feel tha manufacturers and supermarkets have the responsibility to reduce the amount of packaging of goods. Others argue that customers should avoid buying goods with a lot of packaging.Discuss bothe views and give your opinions.

There are discussions around whether manufacturers and stores or customers should be responsible for the problem of overpackaged products. While some may argue that only factories and supermarkets can change the amount of package used, I believe that customers should have greater responsibility as the high sales of overpackaged goods is the ultimate reason why manufacturers are producing them. Without a doubt, factories and the stores are the ones who package the goods. When they receive the base product, it is up to them to decide how much package should be used. For example, fruits and vegetables are transported to supermarkets in their rawest forms, and then they are packaged with excessive plastic wrappings and stickers. So, some may think that in order to reduce the amount of packaging of goods, only the ones who packaged it, which is factories and stores, can solve the problem. However, it is my belief that the needs from customers are the ultimate reason for the large amount of overpackaged goods. Manufacturers need to pay extra expenses for more packaging, and they are willing to do so because overpackaged goods sell better. For instance, survey has found out that when consumers are given the choices of products with minimal packaging or overpackaged goods, most of them will choose the latter one as it is fancier. If customers prefer goods with minimal packaging more, factories and supermarkets will naturally package their goods less as overpackaging will damage their sales. In conclusion, although manufacturers and supermarkets are the ones who produce overpackaged goods, I believe that consumers are responsible for the problem as the need of excessive packaging from them is the reason why producers are manufacturing it.