Some children receive almost no encouragement from their parents regarding their performance in school, while other children receive too much pressure from their over-enthusiastic parents which can have a negative impact on a child. PROMPT: Why do you think some parents put too much pressure on their children to perform well in school? What do you think the role of a parent should be in their child’s education?

Recently, its common among parents to put pressure on their children regarding their academic performance. While other children receive no attention or applauds from their parents for their academic success or activities. This essay will explain reasons why some parents put too much pressure on their kids concerning their academic performance and what role a parent is meant to play in his or her kids education. Firstly, most parents put pressure on their children due to the high expectations they designed for their children. Parents often impose their ideas on kids without giving them the chance or opportunity to choose what they want for themselves. Most especially African parents, they Neither want their children to be a doctor, lawyers, pilots etc. Therefore, for the kids to attain or become professionals in those fields, they have to have a high academic performance that will make them qualify for those professions. Which in turn, make parent push their children beyond their limit to achieve the goals they have designed for them. Another reason why parents put lots of pressure on their children, can be because of competition with other parents. Often time we see parents competing with theirselves using their children's academic or life success as their own success. A clear example is the community where I came from. The level of respect that is accorded to an individual is determined by how successful his or her kids her. This made parents put pressure on their kid's academic performance in order to make other parents respect them and praise them for their effort in making sure their kids are above other kids academically. An appropriate role of parents in their children's education is supposed to be to encourage and support their children. Adequate support and encouragement are enough to make children do better academically without parents having to put pressure on kids. Most time too much pressure makes kids develop anxiety and depression. Which in turn makes them lose focus on what they are meant to do. In conclusion, putting pressure on kids makes them become who they are not. Some kids even go as far as committing suicide if they can't reach the target which has been set for them by their parents. Therefore, parents are advised to encourage and support their kids in their academic performance instead of putting pressure on them.