You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. The tendency of news reports in the media to focus more on problems and emergencies rather than on positive developments is harmful to the individuals and the society as a whole. To what extent do you agree or disagree? You should write at least 254 words.

In recent years, there is a tendency that social media pays attention to negative incidents than positive incidents and some people assert that it is debilitating to the public. This essay strongly agrees with this statement as social media influences people ’s feelings and behavior. First, social media news related to bad or sad incidents make individuals feel negatively. These days, as social platforms such as instagram and tik tok are developed much, velocity of spreading information is so fast and makes possible to share information and feelings together anytime in the community. Because humans are social-being and people feel empathy about bad incidents and people feel annoyed or sad in a day because of news. For instance, when famous celebrity of South Korea died, the whole society of the nation felt deep depression and people couldn’t forget about it instantly as media news reported continually. Second, some people mimic crimes and ways of committing suicide by watching news. There are bad people who mimic the ways of committing crime as they investigate to come out from the suspect. In addition, there are people who suffer from their distress and want to give up their lives. For example, there is a research report which say when famous celebrity give up lives themselves the rates of suicide increase in the society and this phenomenon is called beretere effect. In addition, some research showed when news exposed about crimes frequently the rates of crime increased, too. In conclusion, tendency of social media focus on problems and emergencies can be incapacitating to the public because not only it makes people feel negative feelings but also mimic behaviors.